But the LORD is in his holy temple: let all the earth keep silence before him.

As usual my trip to Salvation Army yielded precious results. Today I found a book entitled Creative Ways to Worship (I just knew I had to buy it with a title like that-to add to my vast collection of heretical books). The first chapter Silent Service takes its inspiration from the above verse.

The minister leads the service by use of postures, gestures, and movements. This necessitates careful study of the verbs in the liturgy. The congregation will follow the service the best they can, creating their own gestures and movements from cues supplied by the leader. Interpretive pantomime artists may be used to help the congregation. The congregation creates their own sermon from the gesture suggestions and cue cards of the minister.

I ask, what happens to those poor people that can’t follow along? It’s worse than being at a Mass in 1963… What type of sermon will this be you ask? “A sermon, for example, based on 1 John 4:8 entitled ‘God Is Love,’ might have these words on three pieces of construction paper. To these could be added a question mark on blue paper, an exclamation point on pink, a war or violence-scene poster, and finally, a crucifix.” But the excitement comes in when it comes to the “Lord’s Supper”:

A tablecloth, preferably red and white checked is spread on the altar table. Assigned member of the congregation bring forward the loaf and bottle of grape juice or communion wine. It is poured audibly into one chalice. All the congregation gather in a large circle about the table.

Is it just me or does this ‘gathering’ remind anyone else of a certain gathering in remote Albania?

4 thoughts on “But the LORD is in his holy temple: let all the earth keep silence before him.

  1. The first time I read the description the words “bring forward”, “pour”, “gather” and “circle” brought certain images to my mind. Then again I may just be making asinine relations…but really, what’s the possibility of that being the case?

  2. The first time I read the description the words “bring forward”, “pour”, “gather” and “circle” brought certain images to my mind. Then again I may just be making asinine relations…but really, what’s the possibility of that being the case?

Leave a comment