Second Priest of the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle in Moscow Attacked

On September 5, 2009, at approximately 4 p.m., Fr. Vitaly Zubkov, the second priest at the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle in Moscow (where recently martyred Fr. Daniel Sysoyev served) was attacked by three unidentified persons while he was walking down the street (dressed in his cassock) on his way to serve the Vigil service at his church.

“I fell and they started to kick my legs, and I can barely walk. Then they started to hit me in the head,” said Fr. Vitaly. According to him, the attack was carried out in “absolute silence.” He did not manage to notice if the attackers were in masks. “I cannot say; I was walking, thinking, and praying and, all of a sudden, a blow. To be honest, I didn’t understand,” he added.

Father Vitaly connects this incident with the tragedy of not long ago: the murder of his friend, Fr. Daniel Sysoyev. “I think that this is some kind of continuation. Because I spoke on various programs, and my first interview was rather harsh-I was in shock from the loss of a friend,” he said.

On Sunday, Fr. Vitaly served liturgy at the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle. He said that he “did not have such serious injuries” to consult a doctor. Source

More proof that, if you haven’t been already, you should pray for the safety and courage of our priests.

One thought on “Second Priest of the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle in Moscow Attacked

  1. I will pray for Fr. Vitaly. I really appreciate priests like Fr. Sesoyev who had a prolific passion in apologetics. There is also a Coptic Orthodox priest Fr. Zakaria Boutros whose work is the same with that of Fr. Sesoyev. He reaches out to Muslims with his polemic works exposing the misbehaviors of Muhammad quoting from Islamic books and the Qur’an. He was able to convert hundreds of Muslims to Christianity. Unlike Fr. Sesoyev though, he found it necessary to stay away from view. No one knows where he is exactly living now but he still maintains an internet ministry plus TV show in Al-Hayat television. My profound admiration to the zeal of Fr. Sesoyev and Fr. Zakaria. Because of his work, he was declared Public Enemy 1 by Al-Qaeda and placed a $60 million bounty on his head. You can follow Fr. Zakaria’s video in youtube.

    Btw, I’m a Catholic seminarian from the Philippines. I too wanted to follow the path of these priest-apologists. I want to defend my Catholic faith from the attacks of Protestants here in my native country. There is also a priest here who is a rising star in apologetics Fr. Abraham Arganiosa, CRS. He maintains a blog http://thesplendorofthechurch.blogspot.com/

    I also want to invite you to visit my site. http://www.quinzo.wordpress.com

    GOD BLESS!

Leave a Reply

